Our Sponsors

Click the sponsors to view


Flaherty's Pub & Grill

contact mnbowling


Sylvester repeats as St. Paul "King"

         Sam Sylvester Jr. repeated as "King of St. Paul's male bowlers for the 2005-2006 season the past weekend, as the Men's and Women's All City bowling teams were announced at the 42nd annual Bowler's Recognition dinner at the prom center in Oakdale.

         At the same time, Brenda Moeller was named "Queen" of the St. Paul's female bowlers for the 2005-06 season.  Jason Price was named Prince of the St Paul's Junior boys team and Katie Ann Sopp was honored as Princess of the female Juniors.

         It was the seventh time on the All City team for Sylvester and the fourth for Moeller.  Other members of the men's team were Joe Drabrowski (1), Tom Jones (1), Alan Loth (12, 4 as King), and Clark Poelzer (3).  In addition to Moeller, other Women's All City members included Karyn Beckjorden (7, 2 as queen), Alicia Manthei (1), Janelle Niles (3) and Michelle Perry (1).

         Rounding out the Junior teams were;  Boys- Eric SchachtKollin Stevens, Sam Weber and Matt Wrantz.  Completing the Girls team were Larissa Lantto, Stacy Light, Kelli Schroeder and Sarah Ullman.

         Two members of the famed Marty O'Neill Celebrity Classic league at West Side Lanes were among the selected honorees.  Jim Bigelbach was elected as Male Captain of the Year and Dutch Erkenbrach was named Sponsor of the Year.


         ETHEL BOWLER---- Cheryl Woessner, a member of the Honorable Mention All City Team, she competes in the St. Paul Women's All Star League.

         JOE BOWLER---- Doug Shellum, a member of the Minneapolis Board of Directors.  He is also chairman of the Minneapolis Men's Hall of Fame commitee.

         MALE SECRETARY OF YEAR--- Don Shellum, secretary of the Shannon Glass Classic at Park Grove Lanes for 18 years.

         FEMALE SECRETARY OF YEAR---Roberta Ellis has been bowling in the Ladies Nite Out League at Flaherty's Arden Bowl and this was her first year as secretary.

Hall of Fame Inductees

         Four Bowlers were inducted into the St. Paul Hall of Fame at the dinner, bringing the overall total to 157 since the first inductees since 1963.  Of that total, 84 are deceased.

         The new inductees are Paulette Genze and Rich Warren in Superior Performance; Carol Edwards in Meritorious Service and Duanne (Pizza) Perrizo in Pioneers.

         There were 30 former inductees present of the 69 living members.  Four were unable to come due to illness, five missed for travel reasons and the other 30 were perhaps too lazy or don't care about the honors they received.  We hate to say it, but the thirty that didn't attend, missed another good program.

         CBA Honors Dave Langer

         The Central Bowlers Alliance (CBA) held it's 13th annual Hall of Fame induction at Wells Lanes in South St. Paul. Dave Langer of Brooklyn Park was inducted into the Hall in Superior Performance.  There are 22 bowlers in the Superior Performance group and seven in Meritorious Service.

         Dave and his brother Dan of Owatonna, captured the Baker's Doubles tourney the next day. There were 62 pairs in the tourney.

         The CBA All Star teams for 2005-06 were announced at Saturday's dinner.  Members of the first team were Dan Bock of Albert Lea, Bowler of the Year; Carl Fietek, Chad Nelson, Richard Vitco and Luke Volklander.

         Representing the second team were Jason Smith of Eden Prarie, named Rookie of the Year; Dustin Barr, Rob Downer, Tom Korth, John Kreyer Jr. and Jeff Smith.

         Sam Lantto of Eden Prarie, a member of the USBC office in Greendale, Wisc., was presentedwith the CBA Director's Award for his dedication to the CBA over many years.    


 Bob's Past Articles   

Property of Max Bowling, Inc.
Reproduction without written permission is prohibited

Photo of Bob Schabert courtesy of the St. Paul Pioneer Press
Used by permission